(Audio) Funkmaster Flex Vs. DJ Clue Live on Air

If you missed it, there’s an issue between veteran New York disc jockeys, Power 105.1’s DJ Clue and Hot 97’s Funkmaster Flex, which spilled over on the city’s airwaves last week.

It was Flex who fired off the first shot earlier in the week. After proclaiming his dominance as a mouth for the hip-hop genre, specifically on radio, he revealed that he had intercepted an email intended for DJ Clue, containing Nicki Minaj’s latest 2 Chainz-featured single, “Beez in the Trap.

He actually claimed to have hacked Clue’s email to get the track.

“Let me talk to you once more. You was talking yesterday [like] you want to go. Make sure you’re ready to go — pause button — ’cause you lost your exclusive tonight,” Flex said on the air (listen here ). “You guys been tweeting about it all day and I took it. Okay? Now, don’t make me have to talk to you like this again (laughs), you clown. I’m so built for this. Listen to me June-June, and you listen to me good. I ain’t hold this crown for so many years for some box-head cornball to get a record tonight that you thought you was gonna get. Now, you just shut up.”

“This radio thing is not your arena. Okay? People sometimes have faith in you because they’re hoping you’ll be the next Flex,” he continued. “I put a stop to that ten years ago. You can’t keep up with me, boy. New York City, I’m so not being disrespectful. I just like to compete.”

Clue later chimed in on Twitter (@DJClue), calling Flex a liar while bragging about his ratings during his respective time-slots on air.

“So this Fat Old dude saying he hacked my email & took a record that never got emailed to me? #CompulsiveLiar,” Clue wrote.

Clue would later hit the air, via Power 105.1 on Friday (March 23), to further address the situation, claiming to be the dominant on-air DJ in NYC while bragging about getting paid more for club appearances.

“Gotta address this clown… actually, where I would come from, we call him a ho. He a ho,” Clue responded (listen here ). “That’s what hoes do. They bitch and moan, and they make excuses for why you number two. And you number two because, basically, you’re tied for the number two spot. The station you’re tied with bills way more money than you do. …So really, you came in number three, buddy!

“Stop calling club owners, telling them, ‘I’ll do parties for free.’ C’mon, man, you’re embarrassing yourself. You’re doing parties for five hundred dollars, or you’re doing them for free,” he later added.

Clue also claimed that Flex threatens record labels to premiere music on his show and/or station or they won’t get played at all.

“You’re spending 99% of your day worrying about what I’m doing, you’re calling labels, telling them, ‘Look, I’m not gonna play you artist’s record if you don’t give it to me first. If you give it to Clue, your artist is not allowed on the station and we’re gonna drop all your records.’ “

According to HipHopDX.com, the NYC DJ peers’ beef has been brewing for a few years. In early 2010, the exchanged disses via Twitter.

Leave a Reply

